- ADVERTISEMENT -
HomeGuidesPhone TutorialsWhat happens when you report someone on WhatsApp

What happens when you report someone on WhatsApp

- ADVERTISEMENT -

There are several ways to filter conversations with people on WhatsApp. If someone continues to post a lot of offensive, hateful, or obscene content that you don’t feel comfortable with, WhatsApp allows you to block or report them. You can even do both. We have an exhibition guide on how to block people on WhatsApp and what happens next. In this post, we will reveal everything that happens when you report someone on WhatsApp.

The reporting feature was introduced about five years ago to help WhatsApp identify people who use the instant messaging platform to spread spam and malicious content. Rumors, fake news, misleading messages, etc. They are examples of content that WhatsApp classifies as spam. If you constantly receive one of these from someone on WhatsApp, you should report them. And if the spam content is distributed in a group chat, you can also report the group.

In the following section, we share with you what happens when you report someone or a group on WhatsApp.

- ADVERTISEMENT -

1. Reporting someone

When you want to report someone on WhatsApp, you are presented with two options- “Report” and “Report and block”. We will explain how both options work and their side effects in the following sections.

As soon as the “Report” or “Report and block” button is pressed, recent interactions with the number indicated will be sent to WhatsApp for investigative purposes. Let’s proceed with answering some common questions you might have about what will happen next.

MUST READ ⇒  How to Delete Your WhatsApp Chat History on iPhone

A reported number can still send you texts

- ADVERTISEMENT -

Well, this totally depends on the selection you made when you reported the contact. If you choose the “Report and block” option, that person will not be able to send you new messages. On the other hand, if you select the “Report” option while reporting the contact, that person can still bomb your mailbox with texts, multimedia files, or voice notes.

Whichever option you choose, WhatsApp will record the report you sent and add the number to a “Checklist” where the person’s activities will be carefully monitored. In addition, an investigation will be conducted into the person’s activities on the platform and they may be prohibited from using WhatsApp.

How long does it take WhatsApp to block a reported number

At this point, nobody really knows. As mentioned above, WhatsApp will initiate an investigation of the reported contacts. If WhatsApp finds reasons to believe that the account’s activities truly violate the WhatsApp Terms of Service, the number may be (temporarily or permanently) prohibited from using WhatsApp.

A reported number can call you

- ADVERTISEMENT -

Again, this depends on the options chosen when the number was reported. If you select “Report and block” a user, WhatsApp will not send you calls. Whenever someone who has “reported and blocked” calls you, the call will ring indefinitely but you will not receive the call or receive a notification.

On the other hand, reporting someone without blocking them still allows you to reach you via voice or video calls, even after the report has been sent/sent to WhatsApp.

What happens to previous chats/messages

When you report someone to WhatsApp, previous conversations with the reported contact will continue to appear on your phone. However, if you choose the “Report and block” option, your chats with the person will be completely deleted.

MUST READ ⇒  How to hide photos and videos on Whatsapp

2. REPORTING OF A GROUP

- ADVERTISEMENT -

Reporting from a group is also very similar to reporting from an individual. So when you want to report a group, WhatsApp presents you with the same two options- “Report” and “Report and exit”.

When you choose “Report and exit”, you leave the group and a complaint will be sent to WhatsApp about the group’s activities at the same time. This means that you will no longer be a participant/member of the group. As a result, the group (and group messages) will also be deleted from the phone.

On the other hand, choosing ‘Report’ only a group without leaving does not change your status in the group. The report will be sent to WhatsApp on the group’s activity but you will still remain an active member. Everything will seem quite normal. So what happens to a Whatsapp group that you reported?

The group will be monitored

This is similar to reporting an individual. When WhatsApp receives a report on a group’s potentially disturbing activities, the reported group will be placed under strict control. WhatsApp may not necessarily take any action against the group immediately. The group may continue to exist and remain functional even after reporting it.

- ADVERTISEMENT -

The group may be deactivated

So what happens to a group that spreads misinformation and other spam messages? Is reporting to the group effective? Well, only when multiple members or participants report the group as spam. If WhatsApp detects a spamming group after receiving numerous reports, the company will likely deactivate the group.

What happens to the group members

Nothing happens to group members. They will not be banned and no punishment/penalty will be imposed on them. All members of a disabled group will no longer be able to send or receive messages in the reported group.

Leave a Comment